endive salad with avocado, mango & feta

Something of a miracle happened today. In the front of my brain, I found myself staring at the alluring avocado display in Sprouts, while in the back of my brain I miserably ruminated on the woes of mortality. After spending more time than I want to admit on whether or not my life was worth the price of an avocado, I decided to boldly declare my worth of 99 cents. I realized I didn’t even have enough quarters on me to purchase it– at the check out stand.

When I got home, I glumly opened the fridge door only to be greeted by an unforeseen avocado brightly staring me back in the face. And that’s not even the miracle. Later, I took my wonderful grandmother out to the theatre, and when I dropped her off, she gave me a whole bag bursting with perfectly ripe avocados freshly fallen from her friend Clyde’s avocado tree.

So, friends, don’t despair. Make this salad instead.

 Endive Salad with Avocado, Mango, and Feta
inspired by Alice Waters

2 endives, with stem chopped off and leaves removed
1/2 avocado, cut in strips
1 mango, peeled and cut in strips about the same size as the avocado strips
2 tbsp spring onions, chopped
3 tbsp feta

for dressing:
2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 tsp tangerine or orange zest
squeeze of lemon, pinch of salt

Lay the endive leaves across 2 plates, and carefully layer on equal amounts of avocado and mango slices. Sprinkle with the spring onions and feta. Whisk the dressing ingredients together and pour over the 2 salads.

This entry was posted in uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

